Skip to content

Favorites
Tropical Center

Lake Wind Advisory

Status

Event Continued Expired

Start Time

Thu 01/20/2022 07:00 AM EST

End Time

Thu 01/20/2022 07:00 PM EST

Significance

Advisory

Impacts

Low impact

Locations Affected

Lake Havasu City, AZ ∙ Boulder City Municipal Airport, NV ∙ Grand Canyon, AZ ∙ Lake Mead, AZ ∙ Lake Mohave, AZ ∙ Oatman, AZ ∙ Needles, CA ∙ Willow Valley, AZ ∙ Laughlin Bullhead Intl Airport, AZ ∙ Overton Arm, NV

Full Alert Message

URGENT - WEATHER MESSAGE National Weather Service Las Vegas NV 248 PM PST Wed Jan 19 2022 AZZ002-036-CAZ527-NVZ021-201300- /O.CON.KVEF.LW.Y.0002.220120T1200Z-220121T0000Z/ Lake Havasu and Fort Mohave-Lake Mead National Recreation Area- San Bernardino County-Upper Colorado River Valley- Including Lake Havasu City, Desert Hills, Topock, Bullhead City, Oatman, Mohave Valley, Needles, Hoover Dam, and Laughlin 248 PM PST Wed Jan 19 2022 /348 PM MST Wed Jan 19 2022/ ...LAKE WIND ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM PST /5 AM MST/ TO 4 PM PST /5 PM MST/ THURSDAY... * WHAT...North winds 15 to 25 mph with gusts up to 35 mph expected. * WHERE...In Arizona, Lake Havasu and Fort Mohave and Lake Mead National Recreation Area. In California, San Bernardino County- Upper Colorado River Valley. In Nevada, Lake Mead National Recreation Area. * WHEN...From 4 AM PST / 5 AM MST to 4 PM PST / 5 PM MST Thursday. * IMPACTS...Strong winds and rough waves on area lakes will create hazardous conditions for small craft with waves up to 2 feet expected, particularly near Katherine Landing in Lake Mohave. PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS... Boaters on area lakes should use extra caution since strong winds and rough waves can overturn small craft. &&